It’s been a while since I posted anything on the blog, but something happened to me today that I felt compelled to share with the Jazz community.  I was out looking at some industry RSS feeds, when I saw a blog posting for the Google APIs Explorer.  I went and checked it out, and it looked like something that could be really useful for someone working in that domain.  I liked it so much that I pointed it out to a friend of mine (Scott Rich), and wondered if we had ever thought of doing something similar for the Jazz based APIs, or for OSLC.  Scott is a lot smarter than I am, so I figured that either my whining would spur some people to action, or Scott would tell me to quit being a dope.  It pays to hang out with people smarter than you.  After you get over the feelings of inadequacy, you can actually learn a lot.

Scott sent me something back a couple of days later that was great.  He mentioned the Tabulator, pulled together by Tim Berners-Lee.  The paper looked great, I had to read it a couple of times, so now I had to see it for myself.  It looked pretty good, so I figured I would share how to get a hold of this for yourself.

I just went out and searched for it, and I found what I was looking for.  To get the Tabulator, just go to the main Tabulator page, and hit the install extensions button.  Now this interesting little capability will be added to your web browser.  You’ll need to restart Firefox to get this to work, so you’ll just have to bookmark my blog so you can get back to these instructions.

So now you have gotten back to my blog, unless you were smart and printed this whole thing out before restarting Firefox.  Now I decided to check this out, by starting up a simple local Jazz RTC instance on my laptop.  Once my RTC instance started up, I used my Firefox browser to log into my RTC instance, at https://clmwb.dtoczala.laptop:9443/jts.  Once I logged on, I then went out and decided to take a peek at what I could see on the RTC server (which is located at https://clmwb.dtoczala.laptop:9443/jts/rootservices, since I am running RTC 3.0).

Now I can see a list of all of the RDF resources that are available to me.  If you click on the little gear, you can see a bunch of small icons.  Most of these are red, but one of them is green.  Click on the green one (http://open-services.net/ns/core), and you can now see the services and resources available.

This is a nice little tool to have in your toolkit if you are working with OSLC, and this coupled with the use of the REST client that you use (check out the OSLC Workshop), and it can help you more effectively leverage your Jazz tools and infrastructure.

