Just went through an issue with a customer, and it’s a somewhat common issue so I figured that I would do a quick blog post on it.

Recently IBM has decided to rebrand our cloud from what we commonly refer to as Bluemix, and we are now referring to as the IBM Cloud.  You may have noticed the changes to the UI, and some new capability (like resource groups!).

Some of these changes have caused some of our customers to “lose” access to some of their data on Bluemix the IBM Cloud (see, even we struggle with the changes in names).  These customers claim that they can not see some of the organizations, spaces and services that they used to have.  DON’T PANIC!.  Your work has not been lost.  What has happened is that as IBM has collapsed things to a single IBM Cloud user (when maybe you used to have a SoftLayer user, and a Bluemix user), you now have access to two different accounts from your IBM Cloud web interface.

Fixing the Issue

So just go and look at your profile in the IBM Cloud UI.  It is the little person icon in the upper right hand corner of your browser.

Now click on the little symbol under Account, and you will notice that you now have access to two different accounts.  Some of your artifacts will be in one account, and others will be in the second account.  You can switch context here in the UI so you can see what is in each account.  Presto!!!  Mystery solved, and now you can go back to being insanely productive working out on the IBM Cloud.

Advertisements